

STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C4-84-2150

Order Creating and Appointing Members to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee

WHEREAS, the TCIS Development Board was established by Supreme Court order dated December 13, 1984 and has met continuously since 1985;

WHEREAS, other committees and groups have been formed to work in the area of technology planning including the Minnesota District Judges Association Technology Committee, the Conference of Chief Judges Technology Committee and the Judicial District Administrators' Technology Committee;

WHEREAS, discussions with members of these various committees, with the Judicial District Administrators, Minnesota Association for Court Administrators' representatives and the Conference of Chief Judges have concluded that the current fragmented planning process is inadequate to deal with the significant role which technology plays in supporting judicial branch operations and necessitates the creation of a consolidated committee to undertake judicial system-wide technology planning.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee be, and hereby is, created and charged with the following responsibilities:

- 1. Plan for and implement a technology vision and technology plan for the judicial branch.
- 2. Serve as a centralized decision-making body for:
 - <u>Business Practices.</u> Determining which business practices will be supported by technology and software application.
 - <u>Standards.</u> Determining the operational, industry and formal standards which will be adopted by the judicial branch.
 - <u>Prioritization.</u> Determining the percentage of time to be allocated between current system modification and new development, and among initiatives in support of the Courts, Criminal Justice System and other public agencies.
 - Funding Requests. Recommending requests for new funds for technology initiatives, including the source of those funds.

- <u>Communication.</u> Serve as the central focus for communicating internally and externally the technology vision and technology plan of the judicial branch and as a centralized point for the sharing of technology related information across the judicial system;
- 3. Serve as the judicial branch information resource management (IRM) steering committee.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the new Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee shall be established as follows:

Membership; Selection. The Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee shall consist of nineteen (19) members appointed by the Chief Justice as follows:

One, representatives of each of the ten judicial districts appointed by the Chief Judge; one Supreme Court Justice or designee appointed by the Chief Justice; one Court of Appeals Judge appointed by the Chief Judge; the Clerk of the Appellate Courts; the State Court Administrator; the Director of the Research and Information Technology Office, two representatives of the Conference of Chief Judges appointed by the Chair of the Conference of Chief Judges; the Minnesota District Judges Association President or designee; and the Minnesota Association of Court Administrators' President or designee. The chair shall be appointed by the Chief Justice.

Appointment. The following persons shall, and hereby are, appointed to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee for the initial term indicated:

Honorable P. Hunter Anderson Tenth Judicial District Isanti County Courthouse 555 18th Avenue S.W. Cambridge, MN 55008 (612) 689-2292 One Year Term

James Attwood MACA Fillmore County Courthouse P.O. Box 436 Preston,MN 55965 (507) 765-3356 Three Year Term

Honorable Philip D. Bush MDJA
12-C Government Center
300 S. Sixth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487
(612) 348-6360
One Year Term

Don Cullen Third Judicial District 2200 2nd Street S. W. Suite 101 Rochester, MN 55902 (507) 285-285-7463 Two Year Term

Sue K. Dosal
State Court Administrator
135 Minnesota Judicial Center
25 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155
(612) 296-2474
Ex Officio

Honorable Sandra S. Gardebring Supreme Court 421 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 296-2285 Three Year Term Dale Good
Research & Information Technology
150 Minnesota Judicial Center
25 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155
(612) 297-7636
Ex Officio

Fred Grittner
Supreme Court Administrator/
Clerk of Appellate Courts
25 Constitution Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55155
(612) 297-5529
Ex Officio

D. J. Hanson Ninth Judicial District Beltrami County Courthouse P.O. Box 848 Bemidji, MN 56619 (218) 759-4500 Two Year Term

Mary Helf
Sixth Judicial District
425 St. Louis County Courthouse
100 N. Fifth Avenue W.
Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 827-2547
One Year Term

Honorable George H. Hoey First Judicial District Dakota County Judicial Center 1560 W. Highway 55 Hastings, MN 55033 (612) 438-4325 Three Year Term

Honorable William R. Howard Fourth Judicial District 12-C Government Center 300 S. Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-9845 Two Year Term Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy Conference of Chief Judges Sibley County Courthouse Box 867 400 Court Avenue Gaylord, MN 55334 (612) 237-2232 Three Year Term

Honorable M. Michael Monahan Second Judicial District 1510 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 W. Kellogg Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55102 (612) 266-9184 Two Year Term

Timothy Ostby
Eighth Judicial District
Kandiyohi County Courthouse
505 Becker Avenue S.W.
P.O. Box 1017
Willmar, MN 56201
(320) 231-6570
One Year Term

Greg Solien Seventh Judicial District P.O. Box 1836 St. Cloud, MN 56302 (320) 656-3650 Three Year Term

Honorable Terri Stoneburner Fifth Judicial District Brown County Courthouse Courthouse Square - P.O. Box 248 New Ulm, MN 56073-0248 (507) 233-6670 Two Year Term

Honorable Edward Toussaint, Jr. Court of Appeals 314 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Constitution Avenue St. Paul, MN 55155 (612) 297-1006 One Year Term Honorable Donald J. Venne Conference of Chief Judges Washington County Gov. Center 14900 61st Street N. Stillwater, MN 55082-0006 (612) 430-6354 Three Year Term

Subsequent Terms. All subsequent terms shall be three years.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Honorable Sandra S. Gardebring shall be, and hereby is, appointed as chair of the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee.

A. M. Keith

Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

DEC 17 1996

FILED